SSL Annex Home


The SSL Annex was established in 2009 under the framework of the International Energy Agency’s Efficient Electrical End-Use Equipment (4E) Implementing Agreement to provide advice to its ten member countries seeking to implement quality assurance programs for SSL lighting. This international collaboration brings together the governments of Australia, China, Denmark, France, Japan, The Netherlands, Republic of Korea, Sweden, United Kingdom and United States of America. China works as an expert member of the 4E SSL Annex.

The IEA 4E SSL Annex is undertaking three major collaborative tasks, comprising:

Task 1) Develop performance criteria for quality assurance in SSL products. For more information, click here.

Task 2) Determine the robustness of SSL test procedures through international round-robin laboratory testing campaigns and, where necessary, suggest improvements to test methodologies. For more information, click here. 

Task 3) Recommend suitable accreditation frameworks for SSL testing laboratories. For more information, click here.

The Annex operates with the assistance of twenty technical SSL experts from ten countries around the world.


Quality and Performance Tiers

Nucleus Laboratory Comparison

2013 Interlaboratory Comparison


Upcoming Meetings

15-17 October 2014

9th SSL Annex Expert Meeting,

Portland, Oregon, USA



SSL Annex Participating Countries


China (Expert Member)




The Netherlands

Republic of Korea


United Kingdom

United States of America



IEA-4E | Sitemap | Disclaimer | Restricted Area